GMG run Iowa Star meet at Wartburg

Abe Dieleman was the Wolverines first boys runner across the finish with a time of 21:39.44. Darvin Graham/Sun Courier
Angel Schewe was the top finisher for GMG at the Iowa Star Conference Meet on Oct. 15. Darvin Graham/Sun Courier

WAVERLY–GMG runners joined fellow Iowa Star schools in Waverly at their conference cross country meet on Oct. 15. Conditions were cold and windy for the runners who traveled a looping course with moderate hills throughout. The Wolverines top finsher was senior Angel Schewe with a 11th place time of 22:24.37. Lilly Bru was the other girls finisher with a time of 29:53.08. Collins-Maxwell won the meet title with a score of 25. The top finisher on the night was North Tama’s Grace Lidgett with a run of 19:51.65. On the boys side, GMG was paced by Abe Dieleman and Jabari Woodbury who finished 33rd and 34th respectively. Dieleman’s time was 21:39.44 and Woodbury’s time was 21:40.65. Other GMG finishers included Owen Bovenmeyer, 21:58.81, Preston Jones, 22:40.57; Jarrett Hornberg, 22:55.95; and Sebastian McGauchey. Valley Lutheran captured the team title and a first place finish Isaac Natvig on Thursday. The Wolverines will travel to Central Springs Thursday for the state-qualifying district meet. The outlook at Central Springs on the boys side looks competitive. Saint Ansgar, Newman Catholic and West Fork each qualified their whole team for the state meet last year. Newman Catholic and West Fork currently rank 9th and 10th respectively in 2020. Ranked individual runners set to compete in this year’s district race include No. 7 Riley Witt of Saint Ansgar and No. 24 Bryce McDonough of Central Springs. Although North Tama’s No. 13 Lidgett will be the only ranked individual runner at Central Springs, there are a pair of ranked teams that project to bring talented runners to the course. No. 8 Newman Catholic and No. 14 Nashua-Plainfield round out the ranked teams with Aplington-Parkersburg also looking competitive after a State berth last season. With an eye toward social distancing and COVID-19 prevention, the boys and girls state athletic organizations announced qualifying and schedule changes for this year’s cross county post-season. The district meets and state meet will each be split into two day affairs. Class 1A and 2A will compete using the normal Thursday-Saturday schedule, running their district meets on Oct. 22 and the state meet on Oct. 31. Class 3A and 4A will hold their district meet on Wednesday, Oct. 21 and the state meet on Friday, Oct. 30. In GMG’s Class 1A, district sites will go from five sites to eight. This will cut attendance at each 1A location by around 10 teams per gender. With this change, Class 1A will feature 16 state qualifying teams – the top two teams qualifying at each site, instead of the usual three – and 10 individual state meet qualifiers for each gender instead of the usual 15 individual state qualifiers. The IHSAA and IGHSAU anticipate this will be a one-time qualifying change. Class 2A, 3A, 4A will remain unchanged on qualifying teams and individuals for the 2020 State Cross Country Meet. ­ Week 5 Stats RUSHING – Brandon Tompkins 17-19, Grant Behrens 4-(minus 1), Jacob Carey 2-7, Tyler Wilson 1-5, Brady Hilmer 1-(minus 13), Dallas Blackburn 2-6. PASSING – Grant Behrens 16-25-1-179, Brandon Tompkins 0-1-0-0. RECEIVING – Michael Niebergall 5-46, Max Eikamp 5-39, Jacob Carey 3-88, Gibson Purdy 1-7 Brandon Tompkins 2-(minus 5). TACKLES – 7-Gibson Purdy; 6.5-Dakota Marvets; 4-Ethan Clark, Dallas Blackburn; 3.5-Max Eikamp, Eli Harkness, Cameron Bruess; 3-Brandon Tompkins, Michael Niebergall, Grant Behrens; 2.5-Nick Soard; 1-Joren Fisher, Reece DeVries INTERCEPTIONS – 1-Michael Niebergall Week 5 Scores Mount Vernon 36, Union 0; CPU 40, South Tama 14; Solon 28, Vinton-Shellsburg 6 Template Headline Template Headline North Tama sophomore runner Grace Lidgett has continued her successful season this year, recently cracking the Class 1A rankings. Lidgett has made great strides since her freshman campaign and now ranks 15th behind a host of returning state meet qualifiers.