Tama SWCD makes donation to GMG Elementary

Local News

Tama Soil & Water Conservation District (SWCD) celebrated Soil & Water Stewardship Week by donating conservation books to local elementary school libraries throughout Tama County. On behalf of her students, Green Mountain-Garwin Media Specialist Jennifer Smith has received four ...

Schildroth graduates from Kirkwood Community College

Local News

CEDAR RAPIDS – The 2024 Kirkwood Community College Commencement Ceremony was held on Saturday, May 11, at 10 a.m. at the Alliant Energy PowerHouse in downtown Cedar Rapids. Congratulations to Reinbeck resident Sarah Schildroth who graduated with an Associate of Arts!

Gladbrook Auxiliary hosts annual Mothers Tea

Local News

GLADBROOK – The Gladbrook American Legion Auxiliary hosted their annual Mothers Tea on Monday, May 13. President Jeanne Paustian opened the program welcoming everyone to the tea on a beautiful spring day. Special guests were 3rd District President Deb Miller of Marshalltown, and Tama ...

Local coordinator seeks families for student exchange program

Local News

Lanette Martin of Marshalltown has been appointed International Exchange Coordinator for the region by EF (Education First) High School Exchange Year. Headquartered in Cambridge, Massachusetts, EF HSEY is a non-profit foreign exchange organization designated by the U.S. Department of State. The ...

GMG hires Meskwaki principal Clyde Tarrence to lead Secondary

Local News

GARWIN - GMG didn't have to look far to find its next principal. During the Monday, May 13, meeting of the Green Mountain-Garwin (GMG) Board of Education held at the elementary school, the board approved as part of the consent agenda the hiring of Clyde Tarrence as the district’s new ...

Meet the trio running for Tama County Supervisor District 3

Local News

Ahead of the June 4 Primary Election, Tama-Grundy Publishing reporter Ruby McAllister sent questionnaires to all candidates running in contested races for the Tama County Board of Supervisors including those running for the Republican nomination in District 1, District 3, District 4, and ...