Candidates named in city and school elections

With the passing of the filing deadline for the upcoming city and school election, several area governing bodies including the City of Gladbrook and GMG schools will see both races and some new faces on their boards.

Gladbrook Mayor Keith Sash did not file for reelection in 2021, leaving one candidate on the ballot in November.

Council member Trudi Scott filed for the mayor seat, announcing her intentions to run with a parade entry in the Gladbrook Corn Carnival Grand Parade in June.

Should Scott be elected in November, her seat would be filled either by appointment of the council or by special election should the community petition the council to do so.

Additionally, there are three seats up for election in Gladbrook with three candidates running at-large.

Incumbents Roger Luehring and Mark Fink are both seeking reelection and Dustin Leifker has filed for the seat previously held by Steve Willer who did not file for reelection.

The seat held by council member Scott Schmidt is not up for election this cycle.

Voters in Gladbrook will also have an issue on the ballot to consider. The ballot question will read: ‘Should the Gladbrook Water Utility Board be dissolved and the Gladbrook water system be managed by the Gladbrook City Council?’.

Over in the Garwin area, Green Mountain-Garwin (GMG) School District voters will see contested races for all three Board of Education Director seats on the ballot.

The District 1 seat incumbent Kyle Hall is running for reelection and is being challenged by Justin Hornberg. Both candidates are from rural Marshalltown.

In District 2, a pair of incumbents will be running for one open seat. Director Randy Sienknecht was previously elected at-large and is now challenging incumbent Nathan Holven for this District 2 seat. Sienknecht lives in rural Gladbrook, while Holven is from rural Garwin.

Three at-large candidates will be vying for two open director seats, including the seat left open by Sienknecht who is running in District 2.

Incumbent Ann Jackson of rural Garwin will run for reelection. She is being challenged by Stacey Duden of rural Garwin and Lacey Bogue of rural Marshalltown.

Reinbeck residents will see at least one new face on their city council next year.

Incumbent council members Nathan Ragsdale and Kyle Rasmussen have both filed for reelection and will be the only names on the ballot for their respective seats.

Fellow council member Jordan Muller did not file for reelection, which will leave his council seat up to a write-in vote in November.

Both the Gladbrook-Reinbeck Board of Education and the City of Lincoln have all of their incumbent members running uncontested in the upcoming election.

G-R School Board Directors Christine Farley and Rodney Brockett, of Reinbeck, and Douglas Rowe of Gladbrook are all seeking another term with the board.

Similarly, Lincoln Mayor H. Trent Wentzien and council members Vance Sebbert, Richard Ellis, John Eilers, Michelle Clark and Dale Meyer are all running for reelection.

Those wishing to vote absentee in November must turn in a request form to their County Auditor’s office no later than Oct. 18.

New this year is a provision that requires all absentee ballots to be into the Auditor’s office no later than 8 p.m. on Election Day.

Postmarks or bar codes printed on ballot envelopes will no longer make a ballot received after Election Day valid except ballots from participants in the Safe at Home program received by the Secretary of State in time to be transmitted to the County Auditor by noon on the Monday following the election and ballots from uniformed and overseas citizens received by noon on the Monday following the election.

Polls will be open for the city/school election on November 2, 2021, from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.