Anderson, Hexter, Wrage vie for House District 53 Democratic nomination

Winner will face Rep. Dean Fisher in November’s general election

The 2024 primary election in Iowa takes place on Tuesday, June 4, 2024.

Ahead of the June 4 Primary Election, Tama-Grundy Publishing sent questionnaires to all three candidates running for the Democratic nomination in Iowa House District 53 including John Anderson of Tama, Tommy Hexter of Grinnell, and Jennifer Wrage of rural Gladbrook. The district is currently represented by longtime incumbent Dean Fisher, a Tama County native and Republican who resides in rural Montour.

House District 53 covers all of Poweshiek County and most of Tama County excluding the northeast corner.

The winner of the June 4 Democratic primary will run in the General Election on Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2024.

Click here for John Anderson’s questionnaire.

Click here for Tommy Hexter’s questionnaire.

Click here for Jennifer Wrage’s questionnaire.