Grundy Hospital Foundation awards health care scholarships

The nine 2023 recipients of the Grundy County Memorial Hospital Foundation scholarships include Emma Koester of Gladbrook (right), an Iowa State University graduate. She is pictured with the hospital’s Chief Medical Officer and scholarship committee member Dr. Eric Neverman. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

GRUNDY CENTER – Local students pursuing careers in health care are among the recipients of $13,500 in scholarships awarded by the Grundy County Memorial Hospital Foundation.

Nine students received the $1,500 scholarship awards, including Gladbrook resident Emma Koester, who is enrolled in a graduate nursing program at Allen College, and Reagan Skovgard of Reinbeck, who is a nursing student at the University of Iowa.

Additional area students who are 2023 scholarship recipients include Grundy Center graduates Sarah Boerm, Piper Johanns, and Madison Ruth; Aplington Parkersburg graduates Missi Aswegan, Averi Everts, and Sommer Stotler; and Eldora graduate Jami Stupp.

Students are eligible to apply for the scholarships if they graduated from high school or work in the Grundy County Memorial Hospital service area of Butler, Grundy, Tama, and Hardin counties and have completed at least one term in an accredited health care program. The financial awards are made possible each year by generous gifts to the GCMH Foundation from the Sara Lee Yoder estate, the Don and Susie Kliebenstein family, and the Irene A. Stout estate. Scholarship applications are available annually in March, with awards made each August.

For more information on the Health Care Career Scholarship program, contact GCMH_Foundation@unitypoint.org.