Grassley nominates Mussig of Gladbrook to West Point

32 Iowa students nominated to U.S. Service Academies

Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) nominated 32 Iowa students to be considered for appointment to the U.S. service academies including Henry Mussig of Gladbrook, a senior at Gladbrook-Reinbeck.

“These young Iowans who want to enter the academies and serve our country are a remarkable reflection of our state. Their accomplishments, leadership and desire to serve are exceptional and signal continued excellence in the U.S. armed forces,” Grassley said.“The academies offer some of the best options for higher education as well as an outstanding way to serve our country. It’s a tremendous opportunity for young Iowans and I look forward to seeing all they accomplish in their future endeavors.”

Each year, Grassley has the opportunity as a U.S. senator to nominate current and future Iowa high school graduates for a select few service academy placements. The U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Military Academy and U.S. Naval Academy all select at least one qualified student from Grassley’s nominations. The U.S. Merchant Marine Academy makes selections in proportion to states’ representation in Congress.

Grassley encourages Iowa students to consider applying to more than one service academy due to the highly competitive nature of admissions. Iowa members serving in the U.S. House of Representatives make nominations in addition to both of Iowa’s U.S. senators. Students may receive more than one nomination.

Students interested in academy appointments should begin the application process in the spring of their junior year of high school. Early application is encouraged. The academies select students based on the number of vacancies available for the next school year.

Traditionally, the high quality of Iowa nominees results in several Iowa students being offered admission to attend each of the service academies. These students then choose whether to attend the academy. More information about service academy nominations can be found at https://www.grassley.senate.gov/services/academy-nominations.

Grassley’s nominees for the 2023 – 2024 school year are as follows:

United States Air Force Academy

Pierce Johnson – Oakland

Kaiden Krajicek – Denison

Zachary Pisney – Cedar Rapids

Levi Russo – Ogden

William Schulz – Burlington

Caleb Shenouda – Urbandale

Sawyer Slezak – Cedar Rapids

Clara Tiegland – Council Bluffs

Kellen Vlahoulis – Sioux City

Carson Wirtz – Cedar Falls

United States Naval Academy

Weston Brown – Des Moines

Lawson Hasley – Mount Vernon

Brooke Magistrelli – Bettendorf

Nathaniel Miller – Marengo

Mary Rolfstad – Davenport

Morgan Svec – Cumming

Alaina Walby – West Des Moines

Kaden Woody – Grimes

Hallie Yates – West Des Moines

Bhargav Yellepeddi – Urbandale

United States Military Academy at West Point

Anthony Colburn – Ames

Shay Doyle – Waverly

Nathan Hyman – Huxley

Henry Mussig – Gladbrook

Ryan Ott – Iowa City

Lauren Otte – Fort Madison

Connor Poland – Monroe

Kyle Squires – Killduff

Jack Tierney – Iowa City

Seth Williams – Cedar Rapids

United States Merchant Marine Academy

Zatyk Holub – Mount Vernon

Alaina Walby – West Des Moines