GMG senior Lilly Bru crowned 2024 Iowa Pork Queen

Iowa Pork Producers announce 2024 Youth Leadership Team

2024 Iowa Pork Queen Lilly Bru. Bru – a GMG senior and rural Gladbrook resident who also holds the Tama County Pork Queen title – was crowned last week Wednesday in Des Moines during Iowa Pork Congress. She was competing against seven other finalists for the honor. PHOTO COURTESY OF IOWA PORK PRODUCERS ASSOCIATION

Lilly Bru has been named the 2024 Iowa Pork Queen.

Bru of Gladbrook, Abby Elsamiller of Waverly, and Aubrey Johnson of Iowa Falls were honored last week as the 2024 Iowa Pork Youth Leadership Team. They were selected during Iowa Pork Congress held in Des Moines.

The Iowa Pork Producers Association (IPPA) sponsors the contest. Participants are judged on their knowledge about pork and pig production as shown in presentations, interviews, and a written test about pork industry topics. Their previous community involvement and experience are also considered. The female contestant with the highest score is crowned Iowa Pork Queen, and the top remaining contestants, male or female, are named youth ambassadors.

Bru, a senior at Green Mountain-Garwin Secondary School in Garwin, will reign as this year’s Iowa Pork Queen. Elsamiller and Johnson are Iowa Pork Ambassadors. Each receives a $4,000 scholarship and a plaque noting their award.

Those who completed the contest but were not selected each earn a $200 scholarship. Receiving these scholarships are:

Lilly Bru, center, pictured with her parents Laura and Ryan Bru last week Wednesday in Des Moines during the annual Iowa Pork Congress. PHOTO COURTESY OF THE PIE LADY/LAURA BRU

-Lansing — Riley Troendle

-Lost Nation — Miranda Rickels

-Manchester — Ella Cole

-Norwalk — Ashlee Tomlinson

-Story City — Hannah Tice

Lilly Bru, center, the 2024 Iowa Pork Queen pictured in Des Moines last week following her crowning at the annual Iowa Pork Congress. Also pictured, 2024 youth ambassadors Abby Elsamiller, left, and Aubrey Johnson. PHOTO COURTESY OF IOWA PORK PRODUCERS ASSOCIATION

Throughout 2024, the IPPA Youth Leadership Team will assist with public activities promoting and educating about pork and pig production, from county events around Iowa to the World Pork Expo and Iowa State Fair. Past team members have valued the connections established with fellow industry advocates, as well as the many growth and learning opportunities provided by these positions.

Lilly Bru

Lilly Bru is the daughter of Ryan and Laura Bru of Gladbrook in Tama County. She serves as president of her FFA chapter and is a member of 4-H and the Tama County Pork Producers Leadership team. She will study agribusiness at Des Moines Area Community College in Ankeny this fall.

Abby Elsamiller

Abby Elsamiller is the daughter of Jon and Becca Elsamiller of Waverly in Bremer County, and a senior at Waverly-Shell Rock High School in Waverly. Elsamiller is the Bremer County Pork Queen, and farrows and raises purebred Berkshire pigs to show and sell. After graduation, she plans to pursue an elementary education degree at Iowa State University in Ames.

Aubrey Johnson

Aubrey Johnson is the daughter of Ryan and LaRae Johnson of Iowa Falls in Hardin County. She is a senior at Iowa Falls-Alden High School. She has served in numerous officer positions for her FFA chapter and 4-H club. After graduation, she plans to pursue a degree related to agriculture, possibly in communications or agricultural business.