Gladbrook-Reinbeck High School receives Chapman Catt Award two years in a row

Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate, right, and state Rep. Josh Meggers (R-Grundy Center), left, presented G-R with the Carrie Chapman Catt Award on Monday, May 22, for registering 90% of eligible students to vote during the 2022-2023 school year. PHOTO COURTESY G-R SCHOOLS/FACEBOOK

REINBECK – Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate presented the 2023 Carrie Chapman Catt Award to Gladbrook-Reinbeck High School on Monday, May 22. The award goes to any school that registers at least 90% of eligible students to vote. Gladbrook-Reinbeck surpassed the mark during the 2022-23 school year.

This is G-R’s second time qualifying for the award.

The Carrie Chapman Catt Award is named after the famous Iowan who was instrumental in securing passage of the 19th Amendment, granting women access to the ballot box more than 100 years ago.