Municipal and school board filing deadline September 16

Filing deadlines for both municipal and school board elections are fast approaching, with multiple seats across the area up for election on Tuesday, November 2, 2021.

The first day to file nomination papers to run for school board was August 23; the filing deadline is September 16 at 5 p.m. with the respective district’s board secretary. An affidavit of candidacy and the nomination petitions must be filed together.

Nomination petitions for school board candidates must have signatures from at least one percent of the qualified electors of any given district or 50 electors, whichever is less. Paperwork for those wishing to file for school board elections is available at each respective school district office.

The Gladbrook-Reinbeck Board of Education has three at-large seats up for election. Board members whose terms are expiring include board president Rod Brockett, Doug Rowe and Christine Farley.

Three school board director seats are up for election in the GMG School District including two at-large seats held by Ann Jackson and Randy Sienknecht. The terms of Kyle Hall and Nathan Holven in District 1 are also expiring.

Nomination papers for city council and mayor are due to the city clerk’s office by Thursday, September 16 at 5 p.m. Paperwork to file for candidacy can be obtained from either the city clerk of each respective community or printed via the Iowa Secretary of State’s website.

Reinbeck City Council has three seats up for election this November including the seats currently held by council members Nathan Ragsdale, Jordan Muller and Kyle Rasmussen. Mayor Ash Larsen’s term runs through 2023.

Three of Gladbrook City Council’s seats will be on the ballot this November. The terms of council members Steve Willer, Mark Fink and Roger Luehring are expiring, as is the two-year term for Mayor Keith Sash. Gladbrook Council seats are all elected at-large.

In Garwin, voters will have four seats on the ballot including the mayor seat held by Leonard Untiedt and council member seats held by Rick Raymond, Lorri Waite and Tonia Meling.