Republicans sweep Tama and Grundy County races in 2020

Incumbents Jeff Edler (R-State Center) and Dean Fisher (R-Montour) will retain their seats in the State Senate and State House after Tuesday's unofficial vote totals indicate victories over their Democratic challengers.

Republicans in Tama County have captured all races in Tuesday’s 2020 General Election.

In the upset of the night, William Faircloth (R-Toledo) overtook three-term incumbent Kendall Jordan (D-Toledo) in a race for the Tama County District 2 Supervisor seat. Unofficial vote totals show Faircloth surpassing Jordan 1,604 to 1,394 with all Tama County precincts reporting.

Incumbent Tama County Sheriff Dennis Kucera (R-Traer) won over challenger Jeffrey Schrock (D-Toledo) in unofficial results 6,276 to 2,639. Kucera will enter his sixth four-year term in January, 2021.

In the other local races, State Rep. Dean Fisher (R-Montour) won over his opponent, Christina Blackcloud (D-Tama) with all precincts in House District 72 reporting. Fisher will retain his seat for a fifth term after unofficial vote totals show Fisher’s 9,731 votes over Blackcloud’s 6,112.

House District 72 includes the southern and western portions of Marshall County and the southeastern corner of Black Hawk County including La Porte City.

William Faircloth (R-Toledo) and Tama County Sheriff Dennis Kucera (R-Traer) each captured wins in Tama County following unofficial returns late Tuesday.

Incumbent State Senator Jeff Edler (R-State Center) defeated challenger David Degner (R-Traer) in Senate District 36. With all precincts reporting from Tama, Marshall and Black Hawk counties, Edler will win with unofficial vote totals of 16,829 votes to Degner’s 10,948. Edler will begin his second term in the Iowa State Senate in 2021.

Auditor Laura Kopsa (D-Tama) and District 3 Supervisor Dan Anderson (D-Tama) both won reelection and were unopposed on the ballot.

Kopsa will be entering her fourth term and Anderson his third.

Donald Trump-Mike Pence (R) tallied 5,231 votes in Tama County to 3,622 for the Joe Biden-Kamala Harris (D) ticket in unofficial returns.

U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (R-Red Oak) received 5,085 Tama County votes with opponent Theresa Greenfield (D-Des Moines) receiving 3,586.

State Rep. Ashley Hinson out-polled incumbent U.S. Rep. Abby Finkenauer (D-Cedar Rapids) in Tama County 5,145 to 3,746.

Grundy County goes GOP

Republicans carried all local races in Grundy County as well as in Tama County.

Lucas Halverson (R-Conrad), Vic Vandehaar (R-Dike) and Barbara Smith (R-Grundy Center) each won their Board of Supervisors races with three-digit margins following Tuesday’s unofficial vote totals released for Grundy County.

Kirk Dolleslager (R-Wellsburg) defeated Michael Lang (D-Grundy Center) 5,335 votes to 1,532 and will succeed Sheriff Rick Penning of Wellsburg. Penning will retire having been the longest active serving sheriff in the state with a career spanning 37 years.

Speaker of the Iowa House Pat Grassley (R-New Hartford) led District 50 challenger Dennis Evans (D-Reinbeck) in Grundy County with 5,131 votes to 1,984.

State Sen. Randy Feenstra (R-Hull) defeated Democrat J.D. Scholten of Sioux City Tuesday in the race for the U.S. House of Representatives District 4 seat. In Grundy County Feenstra topped Scholten 4,889 votes to 2,000.

As of early Wednesday morning, Hardin County was the only remaining county yet to report their election results. Hardin County falls within the boundaries for both Iowa House District 50 and U.S. House District 4.

Look for more Election 2020 coverage in this week’s Sun Courier.