Extension committee to nominate council candidates

Four Grundy County residents have been appointed to the Extension Council Nominating Committee, Glenn Johnson announced. The committee is charged with nominating candidates for the (four) vacancies on the council before August 6, 2012.

Committee members selected to nominate extension council candidates for the 2012 election are Randy Luhring-Parkersburg, Nadene VanHauen-Grundy Center, Larry Bakker-Dike, and Denise Freeseman-Parkersburg.

By law the nominating committee must include two women and two men, and cannot include any current member of the council. The committee is required to take county geography into consideration when nominating candidates.

“Serving as an extension council member is one way to give back to your community. If you believe local educational opportunities are vital to the community’s well-being, then you should consider running for council,” said Terry Maloy, director for Iowa Association of County Extension Councils. “It is rewarding to know that people are able to improve their lives, farms, businesses and communities because of ISU Extension and Outreach’s education and information.”

Candidates nominated by the committee must submit petitions containing the names of 25 qualified voters to the county election commissioner by 5 p.m. on Aug. 29, 2012. Additionally, individuals may petition to have their names placed on the ballot through a self-nominating process by submitting petitions with 25 names to the election commissioner. Petition forms are available from the election commissioner and at the county extension office.

Voters will cast ballots for the nominees in the Nov. 6, 2012, general election. Successful candidates will serve four-year terms beginning in January 2013.

To learn how Iowa State University Extension and Outreach educational programs are making a difference in Iowa, watch the Extension and Outreach 2011 annual report videos at www.youtube.com/user/IowaStateExtension.